

P.O. Box 255, Woodbury CT. 06798

Emergency Services Building 7pm

Woodbury Republican Town Committee Caucus Minutes – 5-28-2024

Present were: Committee members, Mike Cunningham, Paul Luchetti, Peter Perkinson, Bob Ratzenberger, Dennis Roberts, Rob Scott, Burt Stevens, Paul Zulpa, Bob DeLuca Nancy Mackey and First Selectman Barbara Perkinson.

- **1) Call to order by Chairman:** Chairman Cunningham called the Caucus to order at 6:00 PM in the large meeting room at the Emergency Services Building.
- **2) Secretary Read Legal Notice of meeting:** The Legal Notice of the meeting was read by permanent Secretary Mackey.
- **3) Appoint Rules Committee and recess from Committee Meeting:** Chairman Cunningham appointed Rob Scott and Paul Zulpa to the rules committee and asked them to recess from the Committee Meeting to discuss the rules. They had already discussed the rules and were ready.
- **4)** Reconvene and consider/adopt Rules Committee report: The Meeting was reconvened and Rob Scott, Chairman of the rules committee, read the rules of the Caucus. Rob Scott appointed Nancy Mackey permanent secretary and it was seconded by Paul Zulpa. All were in favor. Rob Scott then appointed Mike Cunningham as permanent Chairman and it was seconded by Paul Zulpa. All were in favor.
- 5) Endorsement of five Candidates for Justice of the Peace for the 2025-2029 term: Chairman Cunningham asked CRC Chairman Dennis Roberts to read the list of the five candidates for Justice of the Peace. A point of order was asked for by Paul Zulpa that the Credentials Committee should reflect in the minutes that there were 11 Republicans in attendance at the Caucus. CRC Chairman Dennis Roberts said he had contacted the four active Justices of the Peace. Mr. Roberts then read the

slate for Justice of the Peace for the 2025-2029 term. This slate included the following active Justices: Edward S. DeCortin, 35 Old Town Farm Road, Janet B. Morgan, 45 Pond Valley Road, David Rivera, 91 Minor Town Road and Robert Rob Scott, 34 David's Hill Road. He then confirmed that all five Justices had confirmed that they had a desire to serve as Justice of the Peace for 2025-2029. Concerning the seat vacated by a former Senator and Justice of the Peace, the Honorable Louis DeLuca a candidate was selected by the Candidate Recruitment Committee with a 100% vote in favor. He then presented Sandra Harrison of 34 Kimberly Lane, Woodbury as that candidate. All Candidates for Justice of Peace respectfully request the endorsement of the Caucus to serve the Town of Woodbury. Chairman Roberts also requested the Caucus endorsement for Lisa Amatruda for Registrar of Voters. Chairman Cunningham asked if there were any other nominees for Justice of the Peace. Seeing that there were no other nominees a single vote was called for from the Secretary of the Caucus and Secretary Mackey cast a single vote for the endorsement of the slate of five Justices of Peace for the 2025-2029 term.

- 6) Endorsement of one candidate for Registrar of Voters for the 2025-2029 term: Chairman Cunningham asked if there were any other nominees for Registrar of Voters. He then asked for all those in favor of endorsing Lisa Amatruda for Registrar of Voters to please raise their hands. Eight people voted in favor with three nays and no abstentions. He then declared that Lisa Amatruda was officially endorsed for Registrar of Voters by the Woodbury Republican Town Committee.
- **6) Adjournment:** Chairman Cunningham made a motion to adjourn the meeting. All were in favor and the meeting was adjourned at 6:05 PM.

Respectfully Submitted, Nancy Mackey, Secretary